Oswego City School District
120 East First Street
Oswego, New York 13126
Phone: 315-341-2000

2008 Hall of Fame Inductees

Oswego Hall of Fame Inducts First Class

A dream became a reality on Tuesday evening, December 30.

For years there has been a desire to establish an Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame and it has finally become a reality as ten inductees comprised the inaugural class.

Over 130 people gathered at the American Foundry for the induction ceremony.

Accepting their plaques were Helen Jermyn, Elmer Akley, Brian Akley, Dave Garrow, Sally (Dowd) McCrobie and Robert Sheldon. Superintendent of Schools Bill Crist accepted the plaque on behalf of the legendary Dave Powers while Ellen (Robinson) Comerford accepted the plaque recognizing the 1934 varsity basketball team. Pete Sears was also inducted and one of his former players, Bill Cahill Jr., accepted for the veteran hockey coach while Edmonton Oiler player Erik Cole was also inducted and his father, Dennis, accepted on his behalf.

Master of Ceremonies Bill Foley said, "This class has set a tremendous standard for future inductees. The legacy that they left in Oswego athletics is amazing. This is just the beginning and this will be a night that will be long remembered."

Oswego Athletic Director Scott Sugar, with tremendous cooperation from the Buc Booster Club, brought the Hall of Fame to fruition. He noted, "When I began just one year ago, this was one of my major goals. Every single individual is very deserving and is truly what this hall of fame is all about."

The first inductee was the 1933-34 Oswego High School varsity basketball team which captured the Eastern States Tournament title in Glens Falls. This tournament included the elite teams in the northeast and not only did the team earn this honor, but also captured the eighth consecutive league title and sported a lofty 27-1 record. The team was coached by Dave Powers and the members included Max Robinson, Fran Goodness, Tony Bontomase, George Wise, Fred Tully, Lester Warner, Dudley Leonard, Joe Lowery, Don Sherwood and Harold Shaffer.

Dave Powers, who had won 520 games and ranks among the top five in New York State, was inducted and his contributions to Oswego High School athletics are legendary.

Helen Jermyn, a pioneer for women’s sports at Oswego High School, was the first individual inductee. She coached numerous sports and was instrumental in providing a tremendous foundation for female athletes.

The father-son duo of Elmer and Brian Akley were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Elmer was a coach who sported a 246-141-5 record on the mat and coached numerous sectional and state champions.He is also a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. Brian was the 1983 state champ and sported a spectacular 121-24-1 record including 37-0 in his senior year. He was a four time Class A section champion.

Dave Garrow was a tremendous diver at the Oswego High School as he captured two Section III championships only to have it capped off with the New York state title in 1994.

Sally (Dowd) McCrobie was dominant in the pool in the mid-seventies. She captured the state title in the 100 back in 1976. She had a four year league win streak asn was a six time sectional champion.

Robert Sheldon was the first five letter athlete in Oswego High School history as he excelled in football, baseball, basketball, track and boxing.

Erik Cole played just two years of Oswego hockey, but in that time he averaged an outstanding 2.9 points per game and ranks among the top five in all time scoring. His father Dennis accepted on his behalf.

Pete Sears is another legendary coach and he is also a member of the New York State Hockey Hall of Fame. His teams went to three state championship games.

It was a tremendous event that was filled with emotion, history and every speaker indicated they could not have accomplished what they had without support of coaches, teammates, families and friends.

Applications for next year’s class are due on August 1 and available through the athletic department at dgryczka@oswego.org.


The Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame has become a reality. Holding the induction plaques are (front row left to right) Superintendent of Schools Bill Crist (for Dave Powers), Ellen (Robinson) Comerford (for the 1933-34 varsity basketball team), Helen Jermyn, Sally (Dowd) McCrobie, and Robert Sheldon while in back are Dennis Cole (for Erik Cole), Bill Cahill Jr. (for Pete Sears), Elmer Akley, Brian Akley and Dave Garrow.